Was this article helpful?

Permissions

Last modified 12:39, 19 Nov 2013

This page allows you to manage permissions, including general and Facebook-related permissions.

To manage the site restrictions:

  • Please go to http://www.gigya.com/ and if you are not signed in to Gigya, sign in or create a new account.

  • Click the 'Settings' link on the upper menu:
    SiteSetup.gif

 

  • Click the 'Permissions' link on the side menu:

permissions.gif

 

General Permissions

Enable Retrieving User Contacts

Check the following checkbox if you plan on using the socialize.getContacts API method to retrieve the user's email contact list:

SiteSetup_Contacts.gif

 

An additional advantage of checking this checkbox is that when Sharing via Email, the email screen will provide the users with an option to import contacts from their email providers.

An implication of checking this checkbox is that when users sign in through Yahoo or Google, they will be asked to give permission to retrieve their contact list.

The following is an example of the Google dialog that will be prompted while connecting to Google:

googlePermission.gif
 

The following is an example of the Yahoo dialog that will be prompted while connecting to Yahoo:

Yahoo-RequestPermissions-Dialog.gif

 

Using these dialogs, the user can decide whether or not to grant your application permission to retrieve his Google/Yahoo contacts. If the user presses the "Grant access"/"Agree" button, your application will receive indefinite privilege to retrieve his Google/Yahoo contacts, and the user will not be prompted by this dialog again.

 

Enable Mobile or Desktop Client Applications API Access

This checkbox is unchecked by default. Check this checkbox only if you plan on developing a smart client application that uses the Gigya API. Checking this checkbox allows Gigya's server to not validate your APIKey against a domain. This is necessary for non web client applications such as iPhone, Android, iPad and desktop applications.

SiteSetup_Mobile.gif

 

 

Enable Retrieving User Interests and Activities

Check the following checkboxes if you plan on using the socialize.getUserInfo API method to retrieve the user's interests and activities:

SiteSetup_Interests.gif

 

The following social networks may include interests and activities in the user's information:

  • Facebook (interests, activities)
  • LinkedIn (interests)
  • Yahoo (interests)
  • Google (interests)

 

Facebook Permissions

When a Facebook user authorizes your application, your application gets access to the user's public data in a user's profile, including her name, profile picture, gender, and friend list. If your application needs to access other parts of the user's profile that may be private, or if your application needs to publish content to Facebook on a user's behalf, your application must request extended permissions.

During the social login process, the user is presented with a UI in which the user can authorize your application to access that specific part of her profile:

Facebook-RequestPermissions-Dialog.gif

Using this dialog, the user will decide whether or not to grant your application with the required permissions. If the user presses the "Allow" button, your application will receive indefinite privileges, and the user will not be prompted by this dialog again.

 

In this part of the site setup you can determine which extended permissions will be requested from the user.

fb_permissions.gif

Checked check boxes add permission requests to the list on Facebook's "Request for Permission" dialog.  

 

Granting the permissions will enable you to do the following:

The following options are extended profile properties which are not optional for users and do not require special user permission.  For more information see https://developers.facebook.com/docs/reference/login/extended-profile-properties/

  • Enable retrieving photos
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their photos using the socialize.getAlbums and socialize.getPhotos API methods.

  • Enable retrieving user profile information
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their birthday and current location using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.

  • Enable retrieving user likes
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their "likes" using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.

  • Enable retrieving user work education and skills

    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their work, education, bio, and spoken languages using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.

  • Enable retrieving additional user contact details
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their locale (Facebook language), timezone, and hometown using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.

  • Enable retrieving extended user details
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their URLs, personal relationship details, political views, religion, and more using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.

  • Enable retrieving friends' birthdays
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve the birth dates of the user's friends.

  • Enable retrieving friends' location
    If the users press the "Allow" button, you will be able to retrieve their friends' current locations.

LinkedIn Permissions

During the social login process, the user is presented with a UI in which the user can authorize your application to access that specific part of his profile:

linkedin_request_permission.gif

Using this dialog, the user will decide whether or not to grant your application with the required permissions. If the user presses the "Allow access" button, your application will receive indefinite privileges, and the user will not be prompted by this dialog again.

 

In this part of the site setup you can determine which extended permissions will be requested from the user.

linkedin_permissions.gif

Granting the permissions will enable you to do the following:

  • Enable retrieving email addresses

    Send emails to the users' mailbox using LinkedIn contact email. If a user chooses to press the "Allow access" button, you will receive his email address. The email address is provided as a field of the User object (named "email"), which you receive as part of the user Social Login process, or by calling the socialize.getUserInfo API method. 

    The user may choose to change his contact email to his proxied email. In such case, when calling the socialize.getUserInfo API method you will receive the user's proxied email instead of his regular email addresses. The proxied email is a field of the User object (named "proxiedEmail"), which you receive as part of the socialize.getUserInfo method response. Facebook provides proxied emails as a channel through which your application can contact your users. The proxied email address can be used just like a regular email address.

  • Enable retrieving additional user contact details

    If the users press the "Allow access" button, you will be able to retrieve their address and phone number using the socialize.getUserInfo API method.
  • Enable posting content to user stream

    If the user presses the "Allow access" button, you will be able to post content to the user's stream.
  • Enable sending notifications
    If the user presses the "Allow access" button, the user will be able to send notifications to a list of friends.

Tags

This page has no custom tags set.

Comments

You must to post a comment.

Attachments